Federally Qualified Health Center

Federally Qualified Health Centers

There is no lack of information on Federally Qualified Health Centers. However, what's out there is a hodgepodge of confusing, sometimes conflicting information that often leaves more questions than answers.

We have endeavored to point you in the right direction to answer your questions, and we’ve included links to trusted resources to supplement the information on our site.

According to the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), FQHCs:

  • Qualify for funding under Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act (PHS).
  • Qualify for enhanced reimbursement from Medicare and Medicaid*, as well as other benefits
  • Serve an underserved area or population
  • Offer a sliding fee scale
  • Have an ongoing quality assurance program
  • Have a governing board of directors
  • Provide comprehensive services (either on-site or by arrangement with another provider), including:
  • Preventive health services
  • Dental services
  • Mental health and substance abuse services
  • Transportation services necessary for adequate patient care
  • Hospital and specialty care

*Certain tribal organizations and FQHC Look-Alikes (organizations that meet PHS Section 330 eligibility requirements, but do not receive grant funding) also may receive special Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement.

FQHC Fact Sheet (from HRSA)